About steverow

See posts by steverow

Been Boating for about ten years now, first with "Pegasus" a 38ft LOA Birchwood Flybridge TSDY berthed in Swansea, Wales, in the Bristol Channel, (2nd Highest Tides in the World after Bay of Fundy). Dropped off the scene for about 18 months after we sold Pegasus in 2007 Now got a much smaller boat a Fairline Weekender MK3 called "Aphrodite" 23ft,but loads faster at 35knts, than Pegasus. She is an overnighter and as we have a holiday home near Lyme Regis this fulfills our present requirements nicely, as we dont need a boat that we will be spending weeks at a time "living" on. We will be cruising Devon and South West England with the occasional jaunt to the Channel Islands and France. Aphrodite is moored at Topsham on the upper River Exe on a trot mooring. Am recently retired after 25yrs as Technical Services Manager for a large Private School, looking after everything Electrical/Electronic/H&S/Fire Protection/Comms/ IT Infrastructure etc. Real Profession though is Radio Communications Engineer which is what I trained in. Am a radio ham, callsign G1FIP. Hobbies are Radio, Computing, trying to lose weight, Music (guitar/keyboards), playing with Land Rovers, Caravanning, Boating and getting reluctant and incompatible pieces of Marine Electronics to talk to each other. Wife, Marilyn, is still working as Chief bean counter for a medical charity, having previously been a Company Sec, COO, SFO and FC mainly in retail and further education. Son, Andrew is 30 and still lives at home, he is into gaming big time. He plays pool for the county. Got into Coastal Explorer as a natural progression from CNP V1.161. I originally bought CNP to replace Maxsea 10.3 which I inherited on Pegasus, but buying CNP was much cheaper than the ransom demanded by Maxsea for the AIS Upgrade, and it has bigger buttons, very useful with the mouse on your knee on the Flybridge!!. Favourite Music: Folk Rock Favourite Band: Paperboys (Canadian FR Outfit) Favourite Food: Roast Beef, Yorkshire Pudding etc. Age:55 Home is Warwick in the UK, in the English Midlands, close to Leamington Spa, about 8 miles from Stratford on Avon and 9 miles from Coventry.

Here is my photobucket link to more Pics of Pegasus and Aphrodite:

http://s96.photobucket.com/home/steverow/index

Thanks for looking

Steve.